Coronavirus Update Close

In line with the latest government guidance, we've put in place further measures in England to help customers practice social distancing. This includes limiting the available seats on buses.

Face coverings are compulsory when using public transport in England and Scotland. In Wales, please wear a face covering, if you can.

The safety of our customers and employees is our priority, so please avoid busy times, use contactless payment and take your litter with you. For up to date information see our Coronavirus page


Best Driver is a Fifer

14 May 2019

A driver from Dunfermline bus depot, has won this year's Bus Driver Of The Year competition within Stagecoach East Scotland.

Dunfermline driver Steven Fiddes has won the 2019 competition after placing second last year. Brian Mackie, also from Dunfermline depot, has been awarded second place, with Aberhill driver Graeme Gilfillan taking third.

A number of Stagecoach East Scotland’s best drivers took part in the annual contest this month which tested their driving skills with a short drive around Dunfermline. The drivers then completed a specially adapted theory test, which included questions on road safety and hazard awareness.

Douglas Robertson, Managing Director, Stagecoach East Scotland said: "I'm thrilled to present these awards and to congratulate Steven on being crowned Stagecoach East Scotland’s Bus Driver of the Year. Well done to our runners up too and to so many of our drivers across East Scotland who consistently exceed our expectations in their day-to-day duties, it's great to be able to reward their efforts."

Winner of £300 cash, Steven Fiddes, and the runner-up, Brian Mackie, will now go on to compete in the National Driver of the Year finals, which will be held in Blackpool in September. Last year, an East Scotland driver, Ian Field, was the overall champion at the National final after qualifying for the competition when he won the local heats.

East Scotland bus drivers stand in front of a training bus with award winner Steven Fiddes and Managing Director Douglas Robertson